Uber has introduced a new safety feature in the US that allows parents and guardians to monitor their teens' rides in real time through its mobile app, Bloomberg reports.
According to the publication, the broadcast will be transmitted from the driver's smartphone's front-facing camera and will only be accessible with the driver's prior consent. The company claims that after the trip ends, the recording of the broadcast is not saved and is not accessible to either party. If a parent joins the broadcast, both the teenager and the driver will be notified.
The new feature has already launched in select US cities and will be available nationwide in the coming weeks.
As a reminder, Uber launched teen accounts in the US in 2023. These trips feature additional safety measures, including the ability for parents to track the ride in real time on a map. This service is currently available in more than 50 countries.