Latest News

News Archive

FIFA announces host cities for 2026 FIFA World Cup matches

FIFA announces host cities for 2026 FIFA World Cup matches

The International Football Federation has named 16 cities that will host matches of the 2026 FIFA World Cup. The tournament will be held in three states - the USA, Canada and Mexico.

In the US, Atlanta, Boston, Dallas, Houston, Kansas City, Los Angeles, Miami, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco and Seattle will host World Cup matches.

In Canada, games are scheduled in Vancouver and Toronto.

Mexico delegated the cities of Mexico City, Monterrey and Guadalajara.

The 2026 FIFA World Cup is the 23rd FIFA World Cup, the final part of which will be held in the summer of 2026. Initially, 32 teams were supposed to participate in the final stage of the championship as usual, but on January 10, 2017, FIFA President Gianni Infantino announced the decision to increase the number of participants to 48. Thus, this will be the first World Cup in the XXI century, held under the new regulations.

Each city will house a group of three teams. Thus, in the final part there will be 16 groups, three teams in each.

At the moment, only host teams have qualified for the World Cup, with 45 places remaining vacant.

To leave a comment, log in or register