News Archive

“Real” won Club World Cup

“Real” won Club World Cup
Photo: ESPN

The football players of Madrid’s “Real” beat Saudi “Al-Hilal” 5:3 in the final match of Club World Cup. The tournament was held in Marocco.

Vinicius Junior (13, 69 minutes), Federico Valverde (18, 58), Karim Benzema (54) scored goals for the winners. In “Al-Hilal” scored Luciano Vietto (63, 79) and Moussa Marega (26).

The World Club Championship is attended by teams that have won the main continental international tournaments in Europe, South America, North America, Africa, Asia, Australia and Oceania, as well as the champion of the host country. “Real Madrid” competed in the tournament as the current winner of the UEFA Champions League, “Al-Hilal” — the winner of the AFC Champions League.

The club from Spain won the World Club Championship for the fifth time: before that, it became the triumphant of the competition in 2014, 2016, 2017, 2018.

In the match for the third place, Brazilian “Flamengo” had previously defeated Egyptian “Al-Ahli” with a score of 4:2. As part of the Brazilian team, Gabriel Barbosa (11, 84 — both from penalties) and Pedro (77, 91) scored a double. Ahmed Abdelkader (37, 60) scored two goals for “Al-Ahli”.

In the entire tournament history, only European or South American clubs have become winners. Since 2013, Club World Cup has been won exclusively by UEFA representatives. The best record is at “Real” (five victories), “Barcelona” won the trophy for three times, “Bavaria” and “Corintians” – twice. Last year “Chelsea” won the tournament by beating Brazilian “Palmeiras” (2:1, add.time) in the finals.

The first play of Club World Cup took place in 2000. The tournament replaced the Intercontinental Cup – it was played by the winner of the UEFA Champions League and the Libertadores Cup.

Already from 2005, the tournament is expected to change: it will be held with the participation of 32 clubs.

To leave a comment, log in or register