Latest News

News Archive

The symbol of the Turkmen summer is melon: a few facts about the “Queen of gourds”

0
11702
The symbol of the Turkmen summer is melon: a few facts about the “Queen of gourds”

The onset of summer in Turkmenistan marks the beginning of the melon season. Soon, golden “mountains” of oval and round, large and huge sweet and fragrant melons will grow in all markets of the country, without which it is impossible to imagine the Turkmen summer.

It will not be easy to find a person in Turkmenistan who does not like melons. Poems and songs are dedicated to it, it is depicted in paintings. Melon is consumed both as a main dish (usually with bread) and as a dessert.
Many people call melon a fruit for its sweet taste, less often a berry, like watermelon. In fact, melon is neither one nor the other. Its scientific name is pumpkin, as it is a relative of cucumber and pumpkin, and belongs to the class of vegetables.

The homeland of the melon is considered to be the regions of Asia Minor and Central Asia, India, and Africa. It is considered that the cultivation of melon began in India more than 5 thousand years ago. Melon came to Europe around the XII-XIII centuries, and to Russia a couple of centuries later. In tsarist Russia, they even attempted to grow melons in greenhouses, but then abandoned this idea (although nowadays melons are grown indoors in regions with a temperate and cold climate).

At present time, there are more than one and a half thousand varieties of melons in the world, both original and hybrids. Turkmenistan is the motherland to about 400 varieties.

Melon is not in vain considered a medical fruit – it contains vitamins A, C, E, PP, B, vitamins, folic acid, iodine, manganese, potassium, magnesium, iron and calcium. Melon contains a lot of fiber, so it is good as a mild laxative. At the same time, it has a low glycemic index (that is, it does not increase blood sugar levels very quickly), is not too high in calories, only 35 kcal per 100 grams of product, so melon is even included in short express diets (no longer than a week).

Potassium and magnesium contained in the melon normalize the heart, iron regulates the production of hemoglobin, calcium is good for bone tissue, and manganese helps to eliminate toxins from the body.

Melon is useful during pregnancy (due to the presence of folic acid), with urolithiasis, liver disease, high blood pressure, rheumatism, depression.

However, melon also has enough harmful properties. First of all, it should be used very carefully by patients with diabetes, especially type 2, because melon contains a large amount of simple sugars – glucose, fructose and sucrose.

Melon is poorly tolerated by those who have problems with the stomach and intestines, such as gastritis, gastric or duodenal ulcers, inflammatory diseases of the large intestine, and kidney failure.

Melon is a strong allergen, especially for those who are allergic to ragweed, as ragweed pollen contains a protein similar in composition to melon protein.

Nursing mothers should be careful with melon, and also not give it to children under three years old.

How not to eat melon. First of all, do not drink it with water, milk or sour-milk drinks – this causes severe intestinal upset. It is best not to eat melon on an empty stomach and not to drink at the same time as alcoholic beverages. If you are allergic to oranges or watermelons, you should also be careful with melons.

Melon is best consumed between main meals and not at night, as it has a strong diuretic property.

It is known that a ripe melon has a strong pleasant smell, has a dry thick tail and weighs more than it looks. Also, when patted, a ripe melon makes a dull sound, and an unripe one “rings” like a ball. Do not take melons with a damaged peel, because through cracks and “wounds” dangerous bacteria can penetrate inside and cause food poisoning. Before use, the melon must be washed-after all, it grows in contact with the soil, and in the markets it usually lies on the ground.

In addition to the well-known varieties in Turkmenistan “vaharman”, “gulyabi”, “garry gyz”, there are exotic varieties, whose homeland is distant countries. For instance, honored melon or kiwano - looks like a melon, but is covered with small growths resembling horns. The pulp of such a melon resembles jelly. Serpentine melon looks like long green cucumbers up to 50 cm long. Tiger melon, also known as Pomegranate, is a tiny melon up to 8 cm in diameter, has an orange skin with dark orange or brown bright stripes.

Sources: kp.ru; sunmint.ru; edaplus.info; foodandhealth.ru; nabahche.ru.

Also read:

Comments
To leave a comment, log in or register
Related Publications

Последние новости

Архив новостей

Символ туркменского лета – дыня: несколько фактов о «королеве бахчи»

0
6978
Символ туркменского лета – дыня: несколько фактов о «королеве бахчи»

Наступление лета в Туркменистане знаменует начало сезона дынь. Скоро на всех рынках страны вырастут золотистые «горы» из овальных и круглых, больших и огромных сладких и ароматных дынь, без которых невозможно представить себе туркменское лето.

Нелегко будет найти в Туркменистане человека, не любящего дыни. Ей посвящают стихи и песни, ее изображают на картинах. Дыню употребляют и как основное блюдо (обычно с хлебом), и в качестве десерта.

Дыню многие называют фруктом за ее сладкий вкус, реже ягодой, как и арбуз. На самом деле дыня не является ни тем, ни другим. Ее научное название – тыквина, так как она – родственница огурца и тыквы, и относится к классу овощей. 

Родиной дыни считаются районы Малой и Средней Азии, Индия, а также Африка. Считается, что окультуривание дыни началось в Индии более 5 тысяч лет назад. В Европу дыня попала примерно в XII-XIII веках, а в Россию – на пару веков позже. В царской России даже предприняли попытки выращивать дыни в теплицах, но потом отказались от этой идеи (хотя в наше время практикуется выращивание дыни в закрытом грунте в регионах с умеренным и холодным климатом).

В настоящее время в мире насчитывается более полутора тысяч сортов дынь, как оригинальных, так и гибридов. Туркменистан является родиной около 400 сортов.

Дыня не зря считается лечебным плодом – она содержит витамины А, С, Е, РР, витамины группы В, фолиевую кислоту, йод, марганец, калий, магний, железо и кальций. В дыне много клетчатки, поэтому она хороша как мягкое слабительное средство. При этом она имеет невысокий гликемический индекс (то есть повышает уровень сахара в крови не очень быстро), не слишком калорийна, всего 35 кКал на 100 грамм продукта, поэтому дыня даже входит в состав кратких экспресс-диет (не дольше недели).

Калий и магний, содержащиеся в дыне, нормализуют работу сердца, железо регулирует выработку гемоглобина, кальций полезен для костной ткани, а марганец способствует выведению токсинов из организма.

Дыню полезно употреблять во время беременности (благодаря наличию фолиевой кислоты), при мочекаменной болезни, болезнях печени, при повышенном давлении, ревматизме, депрессии.

Вредных свойств у дыни, впрочем, тоже хватает. В первую очередь ее очень осторожно следует употреблять больным диабетом, особенно 2-го типа, ведь дыня содержит большое количество простых сахаров – глюкозу, фруктозу и сахарозу. Тем не менее, даже диабетикам рекомендуется дыня в маленьких количествах, при тщательном контроле сахара в крови.

Плохо переносится дыня теми, у кого имеются проблемы с желудком и кишечником, такие, как гастрит, язва желудка или двенадцатиперстной кишки, воспалительные заболевания толстого кишечника, почечная недостаточность.

Дыня – сильный аллерген, особенно для тех, кто страдает аллергией на амброзию, так как пыльца амброзии содержит белок, схожий составом с белком дыни.

Осторожной с дыней следует быть кормящим матерям, а также не давать ее детям до трех лет.

Как не стоит употреблять дыню. В первую очередь, не стоит запивать ее водой, молоком или кисломолочными напитками – это вызывает сильное расстройство кишечника. Есть дыню лучше всего не на голодный желудок и не употреблять одновременно со спиртными напитками. Если имеется аллергия на апельсины или арбузы, также следует быть очень осторожным с дыней.

Дыню лучше всего употреблять между основными приемами пищи и не на ночь, так как она обладает сильным мочегонным свойством.

Общеизвестно, что спелая дыня обладает сильным приятным запахом, имеет сухой толстый хвостик и весит больше, чем кажется на вид. Также при похлопывании спелая дыня издает глухой звук, а неспелая «звенит» как мяч. Нельзя брать дыни с поврежденной кожурой, так как через трещины и «раны» внутрь могут проникнуть опасные бактерии и вызвать пищевое отравление. Перед употреблением дыню обязательно нужно вымыть – ведь она и растет, соприкасаясь с почвой, да и на рынках обычно лежит именно на земле.

Кроме известных всем в Туркменистане сортов «вахарман», «гуляби», «гарры гыз», существуют экзотические сорта, родиной которых являются дальние страны. Например, рогатая дыня или кивано – внешне похожа на дыню, но покрыта небольшими наростами, напоминающими рожки. Мякоть такой дыни напоминает желе. Змеевидная дыня похожа на длинные зеленые огурцы длиной до 50 см. Тигровая дыня, она же Гранатовая – крошечная дынька диаметром до 8 см обладает оранжевой кожурой с темно-оранжевыми или коричневыми яркими полосами.

Источники: kp.ru; sunmint.ru; edaplus.info; foodandhealth.ru; nabahche.ru.

Читайте также:

Комментарии
Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий, авторизуйтесь или зарегистрируйтесь
Похожие публикации