The British Museum – great monuments of the world

1
4380
The British Museum – great monuments of the world
Photo: putidorogi-nn.ru

One of the world’s largest historical and archeological museums in the world, the pride of Great Britain, the reflection of the colonial history of British empire and the second in the world by visiting after Louvre… that’s right – this is the British Museum. Its creation was based on three collections, donated by famous figures of the 18th century – the physician and naturalist Hans Sloan, of statesman and Earl of Oxford Robert Harley, and also the library of the antiquarian Robert Cotton, which laid the start for the British Library creation.

Expositions of the British Museum

94 galleries with 4 kilometers extension, in which unique exhibits from all corners of the planet: India, China, Africa, Oceania, South America are waiting each visitor of the museum.

Collection of Egyptian exhibits

Being one of the largest collections in the world, it includes a sculpture of Pharaoh Ramses II, a granite head of Thutmes III, statues of gods and stone sarcophagi. The museum keeps the most valuable copies of the collection of lists of the Book of the Dead, including the most famous, such as the “Papyrus of Ani” with color illustrations and the 37-meter “Greenfield Papyrus”. Precious papyrus sheets, which are 3-4 thousand years old, are very rarely shown to the public.

Greco-Roman collection

This department occupied 12 halls of the British Museum. It is possible to see Lycian sculptures, the remains of the famous temple of Diana in Ephesus, precious items preserved from the time of the Roman emperors, Elgin Marbles, taken out of Greece by Lord Elgin and much more.

Department of Antiquity of Western Asia

There are collections of cylinder seals by W. Hamilton and C. Townley, collections of Persian and Mesopotamian monuments by R. Kerr Porter and C. J. Rich, exhibits from the ancient capital of Assyria - Nineveh and other values of the Eastern Mediterranean.

Art department of Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome

It differs with large collection of ancient sculpture, Bronze Age objects from the Aegean, dozens of plates and figures from the pediments of the ancient Parthenon, and other famous works of Roman art from Pompeii and Herculaneum.

Department of the East

Rich in collections of sculptures, ceramics, engravings and paintings of the culture of the Far East, South and Southeast Asia. The Oriental section presents Indian statues of Buddha made of bronze, ritual vessels left over from the time of Ancient China, monuments of hieroglyphic writing of the second millennium BC. e. and other luxury items of the ancient East.

In addition to these departments, the departments of coins and medals, ethnography, and also the department offering for inspection the most valuable engravings and drawings, including paintings by Michelangelo, Raphael, Rubens, Van Gogh and other greatest masters of their craft, are very popular in the British Museum.

Interesting facts

  • At the British Museum the staff is not just people. There are officially six cats, that hold the position of rat catchers.
  • The thematic excursions for children are regularly held within the walls of the museum. So, every Sunday, members of the "Young Friends of the British Museum" children's club meet here, who are given free access to the expositions.
  • Spending the whole night in the museum - is a common thing! 4 times a year the museum organizes themed night tours for children, dedicated to one of the world's cultures. The theme can be "Japanese Night" or "Egyptian Night", during which children play educational games and listen to interesting stories.

 

The sources: tonkosti.ru; kommersant.ru; putidorogi-nn.ru.

 

Also read:

Comments
To leave a comment, log in or register
Related Publications

Последние новости

Архив новостей

Британский музей – великие памятники мира

1
8605
Британский музей – великие памятники мира
Фото: putidorogi-nn.ru

Один из крупнейших в мире историко-археологических музеев мира, гордость Великобритании, отражение колониальной истории Британской империи и второй в мире по посещаемости после Лувра… всё верно – это Британский музей. В основу его создания вошли три коллекции, подаренные известными деятелями 18 века – врача и натуралиста Хэнса Слоуна, государственного деятеля и графа Оксфордского Роберта Харли, а также библиотеки антиквара Роберта Коттона, которая положила начало созданию Британской Библиотеки.

Экспозиции Британского музея

Каждого посетителя музея ждут 94 галереи протяженностью 4 километра, в которых расположены уникальные экспонаты со всех уголков планеты: Индии, Китая, Африки, Океании, Южной Америки.

Коллекция египетских экспонатов

Являясь одной из крупнейших коллекций в мире, в неё вошли скульптура фараона Рамзеса II, гранитная голова Тутмеса III, изваяния богов и каменные саркофаги. В музее хранятся ценнейшие экземпляры коллекции списков «Книги мёртвых», включая самые известные, такие как «Папирус Ани» с цветными иллюстрациями и 37-метровый «Папирус Гринфилда». Драгоценные листы папируса, которым по 3-4 тысячи лет, очень редко показывают публике.

Греко-римская коллекция

Этот отдел занял целых 12 залов Британского музея. Здесь можно увидеть ликийские скульптуры, остатки известного храма Дианы в Эфесе, драгоценные предметы, сохранившиеся со времён римских императоров, Elgin Marbles, вывезенные из Греции Лордом Эльджином и многое другое.

Отдел древности Передней Азии

Здесь выставлены коллекции цилиндрических печатей У. Гамильтона и Ч. Таунли, собрания персидских и месопотамских памятников Р. Керр Портера и К. Дж. Рича, экспонаты с древней столицы Ассирии – Ниниевии и другие ценности Восточного Средиземноморья.

Отдел искусства Древней Греции и Древнего Рима

Отличается большой коллекцией античной скульптуры, предметами бронзового века из Эгеиды, десятками плит и фигур с фронтонов древнего Парфенона и другими знаменитыми произведениями римского искусства из Помпеи и Геркуланума.

Отдел Востока

Богатый коллекциями скульптур, керамики, гравюр и живописью культуры Дальнего Востока, Южной и Юго-Восточной Азии. В отделе Востока представлены индийские статуи Будды из бронзы, ритуальные сосуды, оставшиеся со времён Древнего Китая, памятники иероглифической письменности второго тысячелетия до н. э. и другие предметы роскоши древнего Востока.

Помимо указанных отделов, большой популярностью в Британском музее пользуются отделы монет и медалей, этнографии, а также отдел, предлагающий для осмотра ценнейшие гравюры и рисунки, среди которых полотна Микеланджело, Рафаэля, Рубенса, Ван Гога и других величайших мастеров своего дела.

Интересные факты

  • В Британском музее персонал состоит не только из людей. Здесь официально числятся шесть кошек, которые занимают должность крысоловов.
  • В стенах музея регулярно проходят тематические экскурсии для детей. Так, каждое воскресенье здесь встречаются члены детского клуба «Юные друзья Британского музея», которым предоставлен бесплатный доступ к экспозициям.
  • Провести всю ночь в музее – привычное дело! 4 раза в год музей организовывает тематические ночные экскурсии для детей, посвящённые одной из мировых культур. Темой может стать «Японская ночь» или «Египетская ночь», в ходе которой дети играют в познавательные игры и слушают интересные истории.

 

Источники: tonkosti.ru; kommersant.ru; putidorogi-nn.ru

Читайте также:

Комментарии
Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий, авторизуйтесь или зарегистрируйтесь
Похожие публикации