Baby for millions: to the Barbie birthday

0
5192
Baby for millions: to the Barbie birthday

The beauty ideal, a fashion icon, top model, and also girls dream toy – and all this is about her, beautiful and inimitable Barbara Millicent Roberts, better known as Barbie. This blonde beauty will celebrate her 63rd birthday on March 9.

Barbie doll creation history

In the distant 50s, the wife of the founder of Mattel, Ruth Handler, noticed that her daughter Barbara and her friends lost interest in the baby dolls, popular at that time. Barbara raved about a real adult doll with fashionable clothes and beautiful hair, that could be combed. Then Handler created the doll, naming it after her daughter, whom she affectionately called Barbie. For the forts time, toy was presented at the New York Toy Fair on March 9, 1959. Then she had a magnificent fringe, a wasp waist and plump lips.

Soon Barbie became the girls’ favorite toy all over the world. About 350 thousand dolls were sold just in a year, and very soon she became the main character of many games, cartoons, and Dior, Kenzo, Pierre Cardin and other popular fashion designers sewed outfits for her. And for the 200th anniversary of the USA the doll along with Coca-Cola and Mickey Mouse was included into the list of the cultural heritage of the century.

Barbie: friend or enemy?

For her 63 years Barbie doll has been a target for critics for several times. Dissatisfied parents argued, that the toy had a bad effect on the psyche of children, imposing unnatural ideals of beauty on them. In 1997 Mattel made Barbie’s waist wider, by the result of numerous complaints. And later, people started talking, that the doll is of the same type and boring. So, in 2016 a new series of Barbie dolls was released, it consisted of models in four physiques and seven skin tones, more than 20 eye colors and 24 types of hairstyles. And the plus size Barbie has gained wide popularity and success, she even got on the cover of Time magazine.

In addition to all, Barbie doll is often blamed of imposing stereotypes about the female gender. The reason for that was the production of talking Barbie dolls in 1992. Then her vocabulary consisted of the phrases: “Do we have enough clothes?”, “I love shopping!”, “Mathematics is difficult”, “Let’s have a party!”. Parents decided, that the doll promoted a consumer lifestyle and children’s unwillingness to study.

Still everyone’s favorite Barbie: why?

Despite everything, Barbie doll creation became the real revolution in the toy’s world. For a short time, she managed to gain millions of hearts. This was facilitated by the fact, that in those years waves of emancipation swept through Europe, the self-consciousness of a woman as an equal to a man was strengthened. Successful, beautiful, sociable and trying on the professions of an astronaut, teacher, top manager, businesswoman and even an Olympic champion – it was precisely such a toy, that personifies a self-sufficient European woman that the world lacked.

Over the years, Barbie held a strong hold on the global market, and there is hardly another toy, that can repeat her phenomenal rise.

P.S. Interesting, that Barbie has a fictional biography:

Full name: Barbara Millicent Roberts

Birth place: Willows city, Wisconsin state. In 90 the birth place was changed to New York.

Barbie has friends Midge, Christy and Teresa, and younger sisters Chelsea, Stacey and Skipper.

With her boyfriend Ken Carson, Barbie has been together for over 40 years. However, in 2004 the couple broke up, but in 2011 got back together. Mattel even put up real billboards about their reunion in major US cities.

Resource: mylitta.ru; burninghut.ru

Comments
To leave a comment, log in or register
Related Publications

Последние новости

Архив новостей

Малышка для миллионов: ко дню рождения куклы Барби

0
7292
Малышка для миллионов: ко дню рождения куклы Барби

Идеал красоты, икона моды, топ-модель, а также игрушка-мечта девочек – и все это про неё, красивую и неподражаемую Барбару Миллисент Робертс, более известную как Барби. 9 марта эта красавица-блондинка отметит свой 63 день рождения.

История создания куклы Барби

В далёкие 50 годы жена основателя компании Mattel Рут Хэндлер заметила, что у её дочери Барбары и её подруг пропал интерес к привычным и популярным в тот период куклам-пупсам. Барбара бредила о настоящей взрослой кукле с модной одеждой и красивыми волосами, которые можно причесать. Тогда Хендлер и создала куклу, назвав её в честь своей дочери, которую она ласково называла Барби. Впервые игрушка была представлена 9 марта 1959 года на нью-йоркской ярмарке игрушек. Тогда у неё была пышная чёлка, осиная талия и пухлые губы.

Вскоре Барби превратилась в самую любимую игрушку девочек по всему миру. Всего за год было продано около 350 тысяч кукол, а совсем скоро она стала главной героиней множества игр, мультфильмов, а наряды для неё шили Dior, Kenzo, Pierre Cardin и другие популярные модельеры. А к 200-летию США куклу наряду с Кока-Колой и Микки Маусом и вовсе внесли в список культурного наследия столетия.

Барби: друг или враг?

За свои 63 года кукла Барби неоднократно становилась мишенью для критиков. Недовольные родители утверждали, что игрушка плохо влияет на психику детей, навязывая им неестественные идеалы красоты. В результате многочисленных жалоб, в 1997 году компания Mattel сделала талию Барби шире. Чуть позже люди заговорили о том, что кукла однотипная и скучная. Так, в 2016 году была выпущена новая серия кукол Барби, она состояла из моделей в четырёх телосложениях и семи оттенках кожи, более 20 цветов глаз и 24 видов причёсок. А Барби размера плюс приобрела широкую популярность и успех, она даже попала на обложку журнала Time.

Вдобавок ко всему, куклу Барби часто обвиняют в навязывании стереотипов о женском поле. Причиной тому стало производство говорящих кукол Барби в 1992 году. Тогда её словарный запас состоял из фраз: «Достаточно ли у нас одежды?», «Я люблю шопинг!», «Математика – это трудно», «Давай устроим вечеринку!». Родители решили, что кукла пропагандирует потребительский образ жизни и нежелание учиться у детей.

Всё ещё любимая всеми Барби: почему?

Не смотря ни на что, создание куклы Барби стало настоящей революцией в мире игрушек. За короткое время ей удалось завоевать миллионы сердец. Этому поспособствовало и то, что в те годы по Европе прокатывались волны эмансипации, крепло самосознание женщины как равного мужчине пола. Успешная, красивая, общительная и примерившая на себя профессии астронавта, учителя, топ-менеджера, бизнесвумен и даже олимпийской чемпионки – именно такой игрушки, олицетворяющей самодостаточную европейскую женщину и не хватало миру.

На протяжении многих лет Барби крепко держится на мировом рынке, едва ли найдется другая игрушка, которая сможет повторить её феноменальный взлет.

 

P.S. Интересно, что у Барби есть вымышленная биография:

ФИО: Барбара Миллисент Робертс

Место рождения: г. Уиллоус, штат Висконсин. В 90 место рождения сменили на Нью-Йорк.

У Барби есть подруги Мидж, Кристи и Тереза, а также младшие сёстры Челси, Стейси и Скиппер.

Со своим бойфрендом Кеном Карсоном Барби была вместе более 40 лет. Однако в 2004 году пара рассталась, но в 2011 снова сошлась. Компания Mattel даже разместила настоящие рекламные щиты об их воссоединении в крупных городах США.

Источник: mylitta.ru; burninghut.ru

Комментарии
Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий, авторизуйтесь или зарегистрируйтесь
Похожие публикации