Unquenchable fire of Darvaza

0
4512
Unquenchable fire of Darvaza

Among the most popular tourist routes of Turkmenistan is Darvaza or, as it is also accepted to call this place intriguingly, “Gates of Hell”, “Door to the Underworld”.

People come here from all over the world to admire the miracle of nature located in the center of the Karakum desert, 266 kilometers north of the turkmen capital. Directly out of the ground, from a twenty-meter crater erupts fire, spellbinding not only travelers, but also the inhabitants of these places.

But the mysterious object has a quite prosaic explanation, which makes possible to consider it a man-made landmark. The history has preserved evidence of how only half a century ago, not far from the village of Darvaza (by the way, the name in turkmen means “gate”), geological exploration went on the presence of a gas field. During drilling, geologists accidentally opened an underground cavity, a hole was formed with a diameter of 60 meters and a depth of about 20 meters, into which all the equipment fell together with the drilling rig and transport. People did not suffer, but natural gas pulled out from the cavity. It was set on fire, hoping that it would completely burn out within a few days, and would not cause inconvenience to the residents of the nearby village.

But years have passed since then, people have been relocated, and the fire in the gas crater of Darvazа continues to blaze, supplying tourist interest in this unusual and truly fascinating place with its mystical beauty.

As a rule, people come here on off-road, other transport can get bogged down in friable sand, and with an overnight stay. The lights from the gas well fly up to a height of 15 meters and in the dark the picture of a burning crater is most spectacular. And if you explore this landmark in the early evening, you can fully enjoy the fascinating spectacle of orange flames blazing over the endless desert against the setting sun.

Dips formed around the crater, one of which is filled with turquoise liquid. The variety of fiery watercolors, hot air and sand, a fantastic landscape in pristine silence, far from civilization ... What is a picture for the creative imagination or attraction of a traveler who is prone to exotic adventures ?!

Scientists also show interest in this phenomenon. Some of them are looking for an opportunity to extinguish the fire crater, using gas for practical purposes and without harm to the environment, others are studying it from the inside.

The first person in the world who managed to visit the bottom of Darvaza was canadian explorer and traveler George Koronis. In the late fall of 2013, he passed through the “Gates of Hell”, collecting soil and finding unique bacteria that do not live on the earth's surface, but feel great at the bottom of a hot crater. According to experts, such a find is especially important for those who study astrobiology: apparently, the conditions on planets outside the solar system, very strongly resemble the gas crater Darvaza.

Who knows how many more wonderful discoveries will help make this karakum phenomenon. One thing is clear- the fire of Darvaza still will for a long time attract people in Turkmenistan who can appreciate other natural beauties and numerous attractions of a hospitable country.

If you notice an error in the text, please select it and press < strong> Ctrl + Enter

Related Publications
Comments
To leave a comment, log in or register

Последние новости

Архив новостей

Неугасающий огонь Дарвазы

0
2929
Неугасающий огонь Дарвазы

Фото: Kjersti Holmang

В числе самых популярных туристических маршрутов Туркменистана – Дарваза или, как ещё принято интригующе называть это место – «Врата ада», «Дверь в преисподнюю».

Сюда приезжают со всего света, чтобы полюбоваться чудом природы, расположенным в центре пустыни Каракумы, в 266 километрах к северу от туркменской столицы. Прямо из-под земли, из двадцатиметрового кратера извергается огонь, завораживающий не только путешественников, но и жителей этих мест. 

Но у загадочного объекта есть и вполне прозаическое объяснение, которое позволяет считать его рукотворной достопримечательностью. История сохранила свидетельство о том, как всего лишь полвека назад недалеко от села Дарваза (к слову, название которого в переводе с туркменского означает «ворота»), шли геологоразведочные работы на наличие газового месторождения. При бурении геологи случайно вскрыли подземную полость, образовалась яма диаметром 60 метров и глубиной около 20 метров, в которую провалилось всё оборудование вместе с буровой вышкой и транспортом. Люди не пострадали, но из полости вырвался природный газ. Его подожгли, надеясь, что он полностью выгорит за несколько дней, и не будет причинять неудобства жителям близлежащего села.

Но с тех пор прошли годы, переселили людей, а огонь в газовом кратере Дарваза продолжает полыхать, подпитывая туристический интерес к этому необычному и поистине завораживающему своей мистической красотой месту.

Как правило, сюда приезжают на внедорожниках, другой транспорт может увязнуть в сыпучих песках, и с ночёвкой. Огни из газового колодца взлетают на высоту до 15 метров и в темноте картина горящего кратера наиболее эффектна. А если осматривать эту достопримечательность ранним вечером, можно в полной мере насладиться завораживающим зрелищем оранжевых языков пламени, полыхающих над бескрайней пустыней на фоне заходящего солнца.

Вокруг кратера образовались провалы, один из которых заполнен бирюзовой жидкостью. Многообразие огненной акварели, раскалённый воздух и песок, фантастический ландшафт в первозданной тишине, вдали от цивилизации… Чем ни картина для творческого воображения или притяжения склонного к экзотическим приключениям путешественника?!

Интерес к данному феномену проявляют и учёные. Одни из них ищут возможность потушить огненный кратер, используя газ в практических целях и без вреда для экологии, другие изучают его изнутри.

Первым человеком в мире, которому удалось побывать на самом дне Дарвазы, стал канадский исследователь и путешественник Джордж Коронис. В конце осени 2013 года он прошёл сквозь «Врата ада», собрав грунт и отыскав уникальные бактерии, которые не живут на земной поверхности, но великолепно себя чувствуют на дне раскалённого кратера. Как утверждают специалисты, такая находка особенно важна для тех, кто изучает астробиологию: судя по всему, условия на планетах, находящихся вне пределов Солнечной системы, чрезвычайно сильно напоминают газовый кратер Дарваза.

Кто знает, сколько ещё открытий чудных поможет сделать этот каракумский феномен. Очевидно одно – пламя Дарвазы еще долго будет привлекать в Туркменистан людей, которые смогут оценить по достоинству и другие природные красоты, и многочисленные достопримечательности гостеприимной страны.

Если вы заметили ошибку в тексте, пожалуйста, выделите её и нажмите Ctrl+Enter

Похожие публикации
Комментарии
Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий, авторизуйтесь или зарегистрируйтесь