Latest News

News Archive

Five distinctive features of handmade Turkmen carpets

0
35366
Five distinctive features of handmade Turkmen carpets

Historically, handmade carpets occupied an important place in Turkmen life. They were used for prayer – “namazlyk”, contributed to the solemnity of “asmalyk” - a family holiday, replaced wardrobes and chests of drawers – “hurjuns”, “chuvalas”, “sacks”, insulated and decorated the dwelling.

In the X-XIII centuries during the time of the Great Seljuks, Turkmen carpets became famous in the markets of Europe and the East, as one of the best. In his memoirs, the famous traveler Marco Polo called Turkmen carpets “the thinnest and most beautiful in the world.”

Distinctive features of Turkmen carpets

Materials from which the carpet is made. Wool of Turkmen sheep breeds is mainly used as raw material. One of the criteria for the quality of wool was its lightness and uniformity in tone, which is extremely important for uniform dyeing of the threads. Some Turkmen tribes, in addition to wool, use cotton and silk, from which refined threads or the basis of the carpet itself are made.

The style of weaving is an asymmetrical Persian knot, while fabrics like Yoruk and Saryk are made using a Turkish symmetrical knot. The Turkmen canvases differ from other oriental ones by a repeating pattern (gol) and wide stripes of stylized designs on the short sides of the carpet.

The colors and color palette are dominated by burgundy tones, which make up the background of the picture. The lines of the ornament use dark tones of black, crimson, orange, blue and green.

To dye the yarn, the Turkmens used exclusively natural dyes, such as madder, yellow larkspur, pomegranate roots, walnut pericarp, cochineal and others. However, in the twentieth century, plant materials were replaced by cheaper aniline dyes, which reduced the quality characteristics of Turkmen carpets. Nevertheless, the gradual improvement of technologies made it possible to approach the properties of the tested natural dyes of animal and vegetable origin.

Ornamentalism. Art scholars assure that the carpet ornament preserves the centuries-old history of peoples. Any ornamental symbol means something, and “gol” is the main ornament of Turkmen. Each tribal and clan group of Turkmens living in a certain territory has its own gol, namely “salyrs”, “teke”, “ersary”, “yomuds”, etc.

The symbols in the gols are very informative and have a certain meaning. Solar signs dominating in the Ersary, Teke and Pendi carpets: the wheel of fate (“chakhry pelek”), 5 moons (“besh ay”), symbols of the stars (“cheche gol”), symbols of the sun (“gelche”) and other celestial bodies revered by Ancient East. In the Salor carpet “ensi” the traditional bottom of the cloth “elem” represents ornaments - amulets, symbolizing Anahita, the goddess of fertility. There are ornaments symbolizing the flora (“chynar gul”, “gulyaydy”, etc.).

Types of Turkmen carpets

Scientists refer to the group of Turkmen carpets as canvases woven in the vast territory of the Turkmen population. This territory includes Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Afghanistan and Baluchistan (includes the territories of Afghanistan, Iran and Pakistan).

Currently, carpets belong to the Turkmen:

  • Tekke - got their name in honor of the most numerous ethnic group of Turkmenistan (tekke). The handmade Tekke carpets are most recognizable in Turkmenistan and abroad thanks to the four-piece göl.

  • Yomut (Yomud) - The ornament of the second type of Yomud carpets consists of vertical rows of octagons with inscribed images of two-headed dogs and other animals.

  • Salor carpets (salyr) for this style are characterized by a harmonious octagonal medallion in the shape of a star, divided into 4 parts. Traditionally, figures of animals are placed in each part of the medallion.
  • Ersari (Arsari) - the ornamental part of Arsari carpets consists of geometric and plant patterns, borrowed and modified Persian and Chinese symbols.

In addition to traditional carpets, carpets with portraits and various subjects are woven in Turkmenistan, as well as prayer rugs traditional for Islamic culture.

Thus, it should be noted that handmade Turkmen carpets invariably take worthy places at international exhibitions. This is the pride of the Turkmen nation.

 

Comments
To leave a comment, log in or register
Related Publications

Последние новости

Архив новостей

Пять отличительных черт туркменских ковров ручной работы

0
1604
Пять отличительных черт туркменских ковров ручной работы

Исторически в туркменском быту ковры ручной работы занимали важное место. Они использовались для молитвы – «намазлык», способствовали торжественности «асмалыка» - семейного праздника, заменяли гардеробы и комоды - «хуржуны», «чувалы», «торбы», утепляли и украшали жилище.

В X-XIII веках во времена Великих сельджуков, туркменские ковры прославились на рынках Европы и Востока, как одни из самых лучших. В своих воспоминаниях известный путешественник Марко Поло, называл туркменские ковры «самыми тонкими и красивыми на свете».

Отличительные черты туркменских ковров

Материалы, из которых изготавливается ковёр. В качестве сырья в основном используется шерсть туркменских пород овец. Одним из критериев качества шерсти выступала ее светлость и однородность по тону, что крайне важно для равномерного окрашивания нитей. Некоторые же племена туркменов кроме шерсти используют хлопок и шелк, из которых изготавливают утонченные нити или основу самого ковра.

Стиль плетения - это ассиметричный персидский узел, при этом, полотна как Йорук и Сарык изготавливаются при помощи турецкого симметричного узла. От других же восточных туркменские полотна отличаются повторяющимся узором (гёль) и широкими полосками стилизованных рисунков по коротким сторонам ковра.

В расцветке и цветовой палитре доминируют бордовые тона, которые составляют фон рисунка. В линиях орнамента используются темные тона черного, малинового, оранжевого, синего и зеленого цветов.

Для окрашивания пряжи туркмены использовали исключительно натуральные красители, такие как марену, живокость желтую, корни гранатового дерева, околоплодники грецкого ореха, кошениль и другие. Однако в ХХ столетии растительное сырье вытеснили более дешевые анилиновые красители, что снизило качественные характеристики туркменских ковров. Тем не менее, постепенное совершенствование технологий позволило приблизиться к свойствам испытанных природных красителей животного и растительного происхождения.

Орнаменталистика. Ученые искусствоведы уверяют в том, что ковровый орнамент сохраняет в себе многовековую историю народов. Любой орнаментальный символ что-то означает, а «гёль» является основным орнаментом туркменских. Каждая племенная и родовая группа туркмен, которая проживает на определенной территории, имеет свой гёль, а именно «салыры», «теке», «эрсары», «йомуды» и т.д.

Символы в гелях очень информативны и обладают определенным смыслом. Солярные знаки, доминирующие в эрсаринских, текинских и пендинских коврах: колесо судьбы («чахры пелек»), 5 лун («бэш ай»), символы звезд («чемче гель»), символы Солнца («гельче») и прочие небесные светила, почитаемые на Др. Востоке. В салорском ковре «энси» традиционный низ полотна «элем» представляет собой орнаменты - обереги, символизирующие Анахиту, богиню плодородия. Существуют орнаменты, символизирующие флору («чынар гюль», «гуляйды» и т.д.).

Виды туркменских ковров

К группе туркменских ковров ученые относят полотна, сотканные на обширной территории проживания туркменов. Эта территория включает Узбекистан, Туркменистан, Афганистан и Белуджистан (включает территории Афганистана, Ирана и Пакистана).

В настоящее время к туркменским относятся ковры:

  • Текке – получили свое название в честь самой многочисленной народности Туркменистана (текке). Ковры ручной работы Текке наиболее узнаваемы в Туркмении и за ее пределами благодаря разделенному на четыре части гёлю.

  • Йомут (Йомуд) –Орнамент второй разновидности ковров Йомуд состоит из вертикальных рядов восьмиугольников с вписанными в них изображениями двуглавых собак и других животных.

  • Салорские ковры (салыр) для этого стиля характерен гармоничный восьмиугольный разделенный на 4 части медальон в форме звезды. Традиционно в каждой части медальона располагаются фигурки животных.
  • Эрсари (Арсари) – орнаментальная часть ковров Арсари состоит из геометрических и растительных узоров, позаимствованных и видоизмененных персидских и китайских символов.

Помимо традиционных ковров, в Туркмении ткут ковры с портретами и различными сюжетами, а также традиционные для исламской культуры молитвенные коврики.

Таким образом, следует отметить, что туркменские ковры ручной работы неизменно занимают достойные места на международных выставках. Это предмет гордости туркменской нации.

 

Комментарии
Для того, чтобы оставить комментарий, авторизуйтесь или зарегистрируйтесь
Похожие публикации